FEMA Checks

posted Mar 3, 2017, 5:22 AM by Ryan Quinn
Washburn County Emergency Management has announced that the Towns of Crystal, Frog Creek and Minong have been awarded disaster reimbursement funding from FEMA’s Public Assistance Program. 

Several municipalities in Washburn County and throughout the Northwest Region sustained torrential rains from the July 11/12th, 2016 storm, with reports of over 9-inches of rain fell causing widespread flooding, road closures, and severe damage to critical infrastructure. 

The FEMA Program pays 75% with the state paying 12.5%, and a local match of 12.5%.

Towns received checks as follows:

Town of Crystal - $4,796.10
Town of Minong - $20,450.48
Town of Frog Creek - $74,464.87

Several other Municipalities and Washburn County Offices submitted applications and are now awaiting their checks.