Gov. Walker Seeks Federal Disaster Declaration for 12 Western Wisconsin Counties

posted Oct 12, 2016, 5:36 AM by Ryan Quinn
Governor Scott Walker today sent a letter to President Barack Obama requesting a federal disaster declaration for 12 western Wisconsin counties after torrential rains and flash floods last month caused more than $11 million in damage to roads and public infrastructure. 

The request is for federal assistance to help local governments recover from the disaster.  

Governor Walker requested federal disaster assistance for Adams, Chippewa, Clark, Crawford, Eau Claire, Jackson, Juneau, La Crosse, Monroe, Richland, Trempealeau, and Vernon Counties.   Last week, FEMA, Wisconsin Department of Transportation, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources and Wisconsin Emergency Management conducted damage assessments across the impacted areas with local officials